Omicron Delta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International

STTI Omicron Delta Chapter

"If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, you are a leader." –John Quincy Adams

Sigma Theta Tau was founded in 1922 by six nurses at Indiana University. The founders chose the name from the initials of three Greek words: 'storage,' meaning love, 'tharos,' meaning courage, and 'tima,' meaning honor--sigma, theta, tau. In 1985 the society was incorporated as Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, a not-for-profit organization with 501(c)(3) status. The mission of STTI and its chapters is to provide leadership and scholarship in nursing practice, education, and research to enhance the health of all people and to support the learning and professional development of its members who strive to improve nursing care worldwide. STTI's vision is to create a global community of nurses who lead using scholarship, knowledge, and technology to improve the health of the world's people.

In 1995 the University of Phoenix Nursing Honor Society was formed by Dr. Ela-Joy Lehrman who served as President, and 166 members were inducted. The Chapter received its charter and Greek name--Omicron Delta--from STTI on April 3, 1998, and it has grown to over 5000 members. Over the years, Omicron Delta has demonstrated excellence in service, education and scholarship. The Chapter is actively involved in community service at the local, national and international level. Omicron Delta hosts education conferences in different locations every year. Scholarships in research and professional development are available to all members. Reaching new heights in scholarship, service and leadership - Omicron Delta!

Angie Strawn, Omicron Delta President